Cosmic News

ORCUS ECLIPSE

Posted by on Aug 31, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on ORCUS ECLIPSE

ORCUS ECLIPSE

NEW MOON ECLIPSE, at 9 VIRGO 21 September 1, 5:03am EDT, 2:03am PDT, 10:03am GDT, 7:03pm AEST Image: Orcus, illustration from PLANETARY GODS AND GODDESSES COLORING BOOK, by author. Book due out late September. This image shows the “Mouth of Orcus,” a sculpture in the “Park of Monsters” in Bomarzo, Italy. An inscription over the entrance reads “All thoughts fly.” You can go in— if you dare.” The inscription suggests something about this eclipse portal. SEPTEMBER “To turn, turn will be our...

read more

DRAGON WOMAN ECLIPSE

Posted by on Aug 17, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on DRAGON WOMAN ECLIPSE

DRAGON WOMAN ECLIPSE

FULL MOON Eclipse, at 25 Leo-AQUARIUS 52 August 18, 5:27am EDT, 2:27am PDT, 10:27am GDT, 7:27pm AEST Image: NEPTUNE, from PLANETARY GODS AND GODDESSES COLORING BOOK, illustrated by author. Initial coloring by Ann Marie. This is the first of THREE ECLLIPSES, the additional third one counting as an extra dose of cosmic change up.This Full Moon eclipse, and the next on September 16, are both PENUMBRAL eclipses, very subtle to perceive. The New Moon eclipse on September 30 is ANNULAR, which means the Moon will have a halo of the Sun around it—a...

read more

CREATIVE SURGE

Posted by on Aug 2, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on CREATIVE SURGE

CREATIVE SURGE

NEW MOON at 10 LEO 58 August 2, 4:45pm EDT, 1:45pm PDT, 9:45pm GDT, August 3, 6:45am AEST Image: HELIOS, Grecian Sun God from the older generation of gods, harking back, perhaps, to Egypt’s ancient city of the Sun, known by the Greeks as Heliopolis. Helios drives the chariot of the Sun through the sky. With his far-seeing vision he peers into the future using a looking glass. Illustration by author from PLANETARY GODS & GODDESSES COLORING BOOK, due out end of September. FIRE, ho! This NEW MOON in LEO, ruled by the Sun, radiates...

read more

HIGH ELECTRIC TIDE

Posted by on Jul 18, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on HIGH ELECTRIC TIDE

HIGH ELECTRIC TIDE

FULL MOON at 27 Cancer-CAPRICORN 40 July 19, 6:56pm EDT, 3:56pm PDT, 11:56pm GDT, July 20, 8:56am AEST Image: URANUS, from PLANETARY GODS & GODDESSES COLORING BOOK, by author, due out in late August. Uranus mated with Gaia, the Earth Goddess, to bring forth a new generation of gods and goddesses. Any myth has many versions. Uranus is not always this kindly. I invite you to find your own version as it plays out in your life. Beyond the solar system of the classical Greco-Roman gods, there are numerous planetoids being discovered in the far...

read more

TERMITES & TREASURES

Posted by on Jul 4, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on TERMITES & TREASURES

TERMITES & TREASURES

NEW MOON at 12 CANCER 54 July 4, 7:02am EDT, 4:02am PDT, 12:02 GDT, 21:02 AEST Image: Crocheted Coral Reef, by Marianne Midelburg of Bendigo, Australia, 2014. The artist donated the work to One Million Women foundation to use however they liked. “The 4 clumps are now in the Australian National Maritime Museum in Sydney,” she writes. This NEW MOON is opposite PLUTO, the dark god of death and rebirth, while the follow-up FULL MOON on the 19-20th will be charged by the lightning bolts of URANUS and the subtle (or not so subtle)...

read more

FAERIE TALE FULL MOON

Posted by on Jun 20, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on FAERIE TALE FULL MOON

FAERIE TALE FULL MOON

FULL MOON at 29 GEMINI-SAGITTARIUS 32 June 20, 2016, 7:02am EDT, 4:02am PDT, 12:02pm, GMD, 9:02pm AEST Image: FEATHERS IN THE MOONLIGHT, painting by Judith Wheelock, 2016. “How do you know but ev’ry Bird That cuts the airy way, Is an immense world of delight, Clos’d by your senses five?” —William Blake, “The Marriage of Heaven and Hell”   This Full Moon announces the June Solstice, one of the major thresholds of the year— the height of summer in the northern hemisphere and the deep of winter in the...

read more

FULL FLOWER MOON

Posted by on May 19, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on FULL FLOWER MOON

FULL FLOWER MOON

FULL MOON at 2 GEMINI-Sagittarius May 21, 5:15pm EDT, 2:15pm PDT, 10:15pm GMD May 22, 7:15am AEST Image: Notre Dame Rose, photo by author. This Full Flower Moon will certainly dispel any boredom and offer some relief from a pace that’s been slow like mud (or sludge)? The SUN just entered GEMINI, a sign is known for its short tolerance for the same old/same old. It’s time to pick up the tempo and change up activities. And—just in time— this is the eve of MERCURY turning forward, as if celebrating the Full Moon. Mercury is quite...

read more

DOWN TO THE GROUND

Posted by on May 6, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on DOWN TO THE GROUND

DOWN TO THE GROUND

NEW MOON at 17 TAURUS MAY 6, 3:29pm EDT, 12:29pm PDT, 8:29pm GDT Image: Star Fairy greets visitors and tends the flowers at White Dove Gardens in East Montpelier, Vermont. Photo by author. The MOON loves being in Taurus, a sign highly fertile and productive. Both the Moon and Taurus naturally foster growth, as long as the ground is properly prepared. The Sun-Moon pair is sandwiched between Venus—glorious in her own sign, loving the good things in life (flowers!)—and MERCURY, slogging slowly retrograde, rather like a bull plowing up the...

read more

DEEP IN DIRT

Posted by on Apr 21, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on DEEP IN DIRT

DEEP IN DIRT

FULL MOON at 2 Taurus-SCORPIO 31 April 21, 10:24pm PDT, April 22, 1:24am EDT, 6:23am GMD   Image: A sculpture of the Lake Champlain sea dragon, seen along the waterfront in Burlington, Vermont. Some people say they have seen the “monster,” offering competition to the famous one in Loch Ness. All kinds of serpents and dragon power will surface under this Full Moon! Taurus is a steady earth sign, productive and persistent. Scorpio goes deeper than any other sign, down into the dark beneath the surface. Under this Full Moon we go...

read more

COSMIC FIRE MOON

Posted by on Apr 5, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on COSMIC FIRE MOON

COSMIC FIRE MOON

  NEW MOON at 18 ARIES 04 April 7, 7:23am EDT, 4:23am PDT, 11:23am GMT Image: Fire circle from last Full Moon in St John, Virgin Islands.   Electric URANUS conjuncts this New Moon so closely we are likely to see sparks fly for several days. Fresh ideas pop out like popcorn from a popper or stars after dark. Watch for Jupiter prominent in the east. In the next two weeks of the waxing Moon we can see which ideas sparkle the most with promising solutions that match the pressing need for innovative ways and means. Try some on and see how...

read more

INTERLACING CIRCLES ECLIPSE

Posted by on Mar 21, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on INTERLACING CIRCLES ECLIPSE

INTERLACING CIRCLES ECLIPSE

FULL MOON LUNAR ECLIPSE at 3 Aries-LIBRA 17 March 23, 8:01am EDT, 5:01am PDT, 12:01 GMT Image: In the Light of the Full Moon, photo by author. The new season pops open with an eclipse that clips some wings, so we don’t fly too far too fast. This Full Moon eclipse follows up the powerful total solar eclipse lunation two weeks ago. The partial eclipse takes place about half an hour after the exact Full Moon and will be visible from Oceania, eastern Asia and the Americas. Though not total, this one ramps up the ante in terms of new...

read more

THE NEW NOTE ECLIPSE

Posted by on Mar 7, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on THE NEW NOTE ECLIPSE

THE NEW NOTE ECLIPSE

NEW MOON TOTAL ECLIPSE at 19PISCES 18 March 8, 8:54pm EST, 5:54pm PST March 9, 1:54pm GMT Image: CERES, sketch from upcoming coloring book, PLANET GODS AND GODDESSES IN THE NEW SOLAR SYSTEM. Watch for announcement. “Could the next note be part of the first note, or could the next note be a different universe? Having just crossed into some amazing boundary, suddenly the second note is a revelation.” —Yo-Yo Ma, “Music Happens Between the Notes,” interview on “On Being” radio Eclipses are always special. A...

read more

CERES DREAMING

Posted by on Feb 22, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on CERES DREAMING

CERES DREAMING

Image: AT THE FEET OF CERES, author’s photo from atop the golden dome of the Vermont State House. What a thrill it was to touch the hem of her robe. Dwarf planet Ceres is very involved with this Full Moon. FULL MOON AT 3 PISCES-VIRGO 34 February 22, 1:20pm EST, 10:20am PST, 18:20 GDT This FULL MOON in VIRGO reflects the light of a PISCES SUN infused with heightened sensitive wavelengths from NEPTUNE and CERES. Best to get yourself organized early as the Moon soon enters Neptune’s Dreaming, which may skew reality for a few days—if...

read more

FIRE MONKEY MOON

Posted by on Feb 8, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on FIRE MONKEY MOON

FIRE MONKEY MOON

NEW MOON at 19 AQUARIUS 16 at 9:39am EST, 6:39am PST, 2:39pm GMT CHINESE NEW YEAR of the FIRE MONKEY Image: MONKEY KING AND MOON RABBIT, woodblock print by Yoshitoshi Tsukioka, 1839-1892. I’m giving lots of links in this Cosmic News for all sorts of perspectives on 2016 and this Chinese New Year of the Fire Monkey. Got any monkeys on your back? Don’t be surprised—we are entering the Chinese Year of the Monkey! The red fire monkey! Go for it! As Simone Butler writes on her blog, ” It’s time to pump up those muscles and...

read more

DEEP DARK MIND

Posted by on Jan 22, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on DEEP DARK MIND

DEEP DARK MIND

FULL MOON at 3 AQUARIUS-LEO 29 January 23, 8:46pm EST, 5:46pm PST, January 24, 1:46 GMT Image: ORION IN DECEMBER, 1959 watercolor by Charles Burchfield, visionary American landscape painter. With apologies and a plea for understanding to those in the southern hemisphere, I am sharing this obviously deep winter image of Orion, one of the clear beacons in the northern sky during the cold, clear season when the snow field sparkles as much as the star field. As above, so below, indeed!   This FULL MOON has a passionate charge of intensity...

read more

In the HEART of PLUTO

Posted by on Jan 7, 2016 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on In the HEART of PLUTO

In the HEART of PLUTO

NEW MOON at 19 Capricorn 13 January 9, 8:30pm EST, 5:30pm PST, January 10, 1:30 GMT Image: HEART of PLUTO, NASA’s iconic photo from the New Horizons flyby of Pluto in July 2015, after 9 years of travel to that tiny world in the distant dark. The clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness.—John Muir, founder of the Sierra Club With Mercury turning retrograde right off the starting block (January 5-25), it’s good to take a back seat and enjoy a slow start to the new year, as we carefully consider and carve out...

read more

THRESHOLD FULL MOON

Posted by on Dec 21, 2015 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on THRESHOLD FULL MOON

THRESHOLD FULL MOON

FULL MOON at 3 Capricorn-CANCER 20 Friday, December 25 6:12am EST, 3:12am PST, 11:12am GMT Image: Dove of Peace, monotype by author. My encounter with a white dove was a highlight of my year, 2015. What were your highlights? SOLSTICE GREETINGS. This is the true New Year, as the Sun turns the season and opens the cosmic door into 2016. Let’s pay special attention to this one, to make a conscious, intentional step across this annual threshold. Let’s make it a fresh, vital experience. A Full Moon on Christmas day highlights the...

read more

CREATIVE CHAOS

Posted by on Dec 10, 2015 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on CREATIVE CHAOS

CREATIVE CHAOS

NEW MOON December 11 at 19 Sagittarius 03 5:29am EST, 2:29am PST, 12:29am GMT IMAGE: “Fractal Sky,” web collage by Dana Hunt.  This fiery SAGITTARIUS NEW MOON is motivating and energizing. Set positive goals during this New Moon for crossing into the New Year. As the Moon waxes, fuel them with enthusiasm and confidence, taking into consideration any steps that need to be taken NOW—no procrastinating, no time to waste, yet remembering also that “haste makes waste.” Don’t put the cart before the horse, as they...

read more

FULL MOON MYSTERIES

Posted by on Nov 23, 2015 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on FULL MOON MYSTERIES

FULL MOON MYSTERIES

Wednesday, November 25 FULL MOON at 3 Sagittarius-GEMINI November 25, 5:44pm EST, 2:55pm PST, 10:44pm GMT Image: Moon Mystery by artist Judith Wheelock. Readers may remember her Buddha face from last spring. In sharing this image, I realize that southern hemisphere residents are seeing buds on trees that are no longer so winter-barren! Please imagine the greening. This FULL MOON fully engages the great question of the moment: what is reality? This GEMINI Full Moon amplifies a square dance of planets that can be quite distracting and...

read more

ELEVEN-ELEVEN NEW MOON

Posted by on Nov 8, 2015 in Cosmic News | Comments Off on ELEVEN-ELEVEN NEW MOON

ELEVEN-ELEVEN NEW MOON

NEW MOON at 19 Scorpio 01 November 11, 12:47pm EST, 9:47am PST, 5:47pm GMT Image: Grandmother Mabel looking up at Orion. Photo from She Sings to the Stars, an extraordinary indie film with several kinds of magic. Showing this month at the Red Nation Film Festival in Los Angeles. Watch the trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpB4fR74NcY and then watch for it coming your way: www.shesingstothestars.com (Wow, it’s November!! Time for annual COSMIC NEWS contributions request. I do appreciate your support. See link on right of this...

read more